Pricing Event Photography

karrahflores

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I've shot a few events for a particular organization for free and now I think it the time for me to be getting paid for all my hard work. I'll give you some background:

I'm a full time photography student and making a little extra here and there on portrait photography.

I've shot 5 events for this organization, handed over CDs with full resolution and web-friendly images for their use, for free. I have also made them slideshows and shared them with my circle of influence, which helps promote them.

The staff and I get along magnificently. They are extremely happy with me and many of the event goers have thanked me numerous times for my hard work.

Based on the events they throw and I've photographed, I feel their entertainment budget could handle professional photography.

I do not want to charge the event goers for prints, I would rather work for an hourly fee and hand over a disk of images.

I'm based out of Central Florida and haven't been able to find what a median event rate is. I see a lot of $50-$500, which really doesn't help when I'm trying to write a proposal to hire me for their board members.

Any help/links to valuable information/full written proposals would be much appreciated!

Thanks,
K

I've shot 5 events for this organization, handed over CDs with full resolution and web-friendly images for their use, for free

Your going to make loads of friends here ^^

I'm not quite sure what you're trying to say here.

I realize that I've shot a lot of times for them, and in the proposal I am stating the value of what they have already received. What I really need is help finding standardized rates for event photographers.

What I really need is help finding standardized rates for event photographers.

As you're already seeing, there IS no standardized rates... or typical rates... or usual rates. Pricing truly is all over the board.