Pricing in a market saturated by Groupon deals

TCUphoto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
What do you charge for portrait session/print/cd and how do you profit in a market saturated by cheap, poor quality work being offered on Groupon, Craigslist, etc....?

Between Groupon, Grouponicus and Living Social we had 3 cheap photography deals in my city today!! Ridiculous. What's frustrating to me is that I don't think non-photographers realize many of those Groupon photographers are offering poor quality, effortless photography. How do you compete? I've been doing photography as a hobby for a few years and offering my portrait photography services for about 8 months. I can produce a good product, and have had numerous people tell me so, however I'm still trying to build a client base. Looking at getting pricing ideas for 2012, as a large city portrait photographer in a Groupon world.

You set your prices based on your cost of doing business... and the quality of your images. If you're good, you will build a client base that recognizes that, and that will pay what you are worth.

You don't want the customers that are the Groupon El Cheapo types... trust me! More trouble than they are worth... never happy, always wanting more and more.. and wouldn't know a good shot if it bit them on the derriere! :)

You base your price on delivering a GREAT PRODUCT and don't worry about competing with the shoot and burners. I think that Kristal aka Rub said it best in a post earlier this year about celebrating an achievement for this year. How she proudly stated her prices to friends, family and clients alike. If you can back it up with delivering quality product and fantastic customer service and experience then don't worry about what the rest of the world is doing. Yes you will lose some clients but most likely thats not your target market anyways.

Last edited: