Pricing Question

sirfugu

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I need some advice on whether or not I am getting screwed on an offer that was made to me. A little background first. I am a nature photographer and I have a decent portfolio (Ryan Ankeny's Gallery) of bird and nature images. I have just begun marketing my photography. I recently got an offer from a business that sells wholesale photography to hospitals, restaurants, hotels, and furniture stores. The offer was $2 per square foot of my photography that sells. This seems to me a rather odd way of pricing photography and rather low. Apparently the company is working on some deals with some large furniture stores to sell photography and art and there is the possibility that I could be selling 100,200,500 or more prints. That is still theoretical though. So what do you all think? How bad are they trying to screw me over and what would you ask?

It sounds odd, but really I have no idea. I'm curious to hear what others say.

A quick flip through of your portfolio makes me want to ask, can you photo's be PRINTED in a 100, 200, or 500 sq ft shot? I mean, some seem to lack quality to be printed larger than a few square feet. I mean, i can see noise in some of these shots, so how on earth could they be printed that large? And no, i'm not commenting on your images from an art standpoint, just a technical standpoint.

I'm not saying they are going to be printed that big, I'm saying there is the potential for selling that many copies. Sorry if I didn't make that clear. I know there is noise visible in some of them but not all, and most likely they will be printed at 20x30 or smaller.