Pro wedding photos to pro videographer!?

alexoat

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm a professional wedding photographer (9yrs), I was recently contacted by a videographer from a wedding we worked together. They asked me if they could purchase a few photos to use in the video for the client. I said sure, please check out the online gallery and send me a list of photos you would like. They sent me the list of.... 305 images. Is that crazy? I was expecting 25. In my 9 yrs of experience this is the 1st time I have been asked this.
Is this normal?
should I put a limit on the number of photos I give to videographer?
videograpehrs out there.... Is this amount of images normal?
What should I charge? Even though part of me does not want to give this random guy 305 of my images.

feedback greatly appreciated!!

He wants some of your photos just for his video for that client? What in the world is he going to do with 300?? I don't do weddings but this sounds, well, strange. I suppose I'd ask for more specifics on what the usage would be. I would think the pricing for that many photos would be way too high to even be practical for a videographer to use in one video (more than what he's getting paid to do video of the wedding wouldn't you think?)

Wonder if his video didn't turn out and he's trying to figure out a way to provide a video to the client. Who knows, that just popped into my mind trying to figure out what in the world he'd do with 300 of your photos. Maybe negotiate a price for a reasonable number? tell him you're not interested in licensing that many of your photos from one wedding?? Ya got me.

Wonder if his video didn't turn out and he's trying to figure out a way to provide a video to the client.

I used to do wedding videos about 8 years ago and that is the only reason I can think of why the videographer would later contact the photographer asking foe photos.