Problems focusing (Yashica TL - Electro + Yashinon DS f/1.9)

Tom Sawyer

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi people, I just registered because I'm having some issues with focusing.

Let me start by saying that I am a complete novice to photography, and I never touched anything but compact cameras until lately, when I retrieved my dad's Yashica SLR from the depths of some cupboard.

I'm now reading a lot on the internet, and trying things, but as said in the title, I'm having trouble with the adjusting the focus:
The focusing distances on the lens simply don't match up with the distance the objects are away from me. I made a test to get it straight. I measured exactly one meter to the object, adjusted the lens to one meter - blurrrrr. To get the subject even remotely sharp, I had to turn the ring until infinity, and even then it wasn't that sharp.

On the other hand, I can focus things that are only about 40cm from me blazingly sharp, even though the lens should just go down to 0,5, but to do that I have to set the focus to about 1m!

What do you recon, is it a problem with the lens, or with the camera?
Or am I doing something wrong?
I have another lens, a Carl Zeiss, and it won't focus properly either, but I know my dad always said that lens wasn't working correctly...

Thanks for any help!

Last edited:
Hi and welcome to the forum. I does sound as though your camera is in need of repair. Has the camera ever been dropped?

You can get another body for very little money if you find that the Zeiss is something that you don't want to give up.

Just a thought, is there a detachable ring on the camera where the lenses go? If so, try taking it off. If you have to have it for the lenses to fit then make sure it's in all the way.

Good luck and don't be a stranger. :)

Sounds like the first lens has been taken apart ... and put back together incorrectly ... when it was put back together the lens was not aligned properly.