Daf

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.dafshots.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all!

I'm a complete novice to photography, but learning more everyday! I generally shoot local motocross races in our area. I no longer race myself so this allows me to both stay involved in the sport and give a little back ( I do not, at this time, charge for the photos).

I bought the D40 as an entry level camera when I started shooting the races and it's served me well. I got the 18-55mm lens with the kit and bought the 55-200mm separately. The 55-200mm has been my workhorse and I am happy with the results. I felt the need, and got some advice, to get a profession lens, a "fast" lens and I finally did pull the trigger on a used Nikon AF-S 80-200mm f:2.8 D. Wow! I love this lens! It's sharper and with the larger aperature I'm getting really good results even on overcast days - not to mention the all the other benefits of a professional piece of glass!

Okay - sorry for the prologue/introduction above - here's the problem. The Nikon AF-S 80-200mm f:2.8 D is giving me fits with the auto focus. I can't tell if it's something I'm not doing right - like a setting or something - or if the lens may be malfunctioning. When I depress the shutter button halfway to set the focus sometimes the AS doesn't budge. I have found that if I reach up and nudge (slight turn) the manual focus ring then try again it works fine. This is not all the time - say about 20% of the shots do me this way. You can imaging the frustration with such a fast paced sport - I need the AF to lock in and stay locked. But sometimes I'm hitting the shutter and it just stays blurry (out of focus) - yikes! The lens has the M/A|M setting and that is set to M/A. These is another setting below that one that says Full - then the infinity symbol. I do not know what that one does. I did not get any instructions or a manual for the lens (can one be downloaded?).