Processing help needed

JohnTrav

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
I am still learning how rouse my photoshop and photoshop camera raw programs to process my photos. I also have Lightroom 4 but barely ever use it because it runs so slow on my computer.

Petty ,ugh right no I am having trouble figuring out how to edit photos with some blown out highlights while some of it is underexposed it seems. I read books such as "the digital negative" and other Scott kelby books on using these programs and also watch YouTube video tutorials and utilize google. For some reason I just can not figure this out.

Here are the shots of before and after of what I was working on that IMO I am doing a terrible job on

This was also a panorama shot stitched together in photoshop them processed in camera raw if that means anything to anyone. Also the gear I used was my canon 7D with my canon 70-200 f/2.8L. No fill flash was used and I prolly should have used it. Any help will be appreciated.

Pretty much what I was trying to do was tone down the blown out sky (I failed)

Here is the before:
$image-4103152887.jpg

Here is the after:
$image-1426623037.jpg

What are you trying to accomplish? The first one looks fine to me. The sky is very very light, but that's what it looked like.

There DOES seem to be a ridgeline in the background on the right that perhaps you're trying to bring out? You just need a more subtle hand on the curves control there. You've dragged the entire top end of the tonal range down -- don't do that!

You might need to perform local adjustments to bring that ridge out.

The problem is that you have blown out areas in the photo to start with.

In digital photography, once the image (or parts of it) reach the level of exposure that represents pure white...we call it blown out. Once an area is blown out, it can no longer retain any other useful data....which means that once it's blown out, there is no color or texture left.