Product Photography - Studio Lighting Set

Ipanema

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi all
I was hoping to get some gear advice in regards to a basic studio set up. In particular LIGHTING

I'm a graphic designer and relatively amateurish photographer but my job is about to branch out into product photography for musical instruments. I'm unsure of what to get in terms of lighting for the best results.

Some details:
Studio is about 3m sq in space

Budget: approx $ AUD 2,500 (will be getting as much second-hand as possible)

Gear: Olympus OM-D E-M5, Canon 7d, various lenses between them

Style of photography: Similar to the photos on white in this sliderhttp://www.aristidesinstruments.com/homepage.html though we also have guitar cases and such with leather textures and velvet interiors that need to be featured

Post production: only thing i'm not worried about but would love to spend as little time as possible editing

Any help/suggestions would be amazing. Thanks

Product lighting can be difficult, particularly when photographing items that have reflective surfaces.
Lighting is definitely a key.

A good grounding in the fundamentals of photographic lighting will save you a lot of time, headache, help you minimize the amount of post production:
Light Science and Magic: An Introduction to Photographic Lighting

In addition to lights, you'll need light stands, light modifiers in a variety of sizes and shapes, a very stable tripod or camera stand, reflectors to both add and subtract light, a variety of clamps and other lighting set up/rigging gear collectively known as grip gear. (white reflectors add light, black reflectors subtract light. Reflectors can be low tech.)

I think your 'studio' @ 3 meters square is a bit to small, and the unstated ceiling height is a factor.