Professional photography!

Star_Climber

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I really love photography,and i would like to be a professional photographer,i wanna do that my whole life...i am especially interested in fashion photography!my dream...:heart:

but i'm kind of really confused now!:confused:
why?
well first of all i'm an amateur...
well i am going on a visual art uni to learn "photography"...
but my professor isn't that good...(not to say she sucks)
first we studied history of photography...then she jumped on composition,then today on light etc.
but all in all she doesn't stay on any presentation/topic for long,she jumps from one thing to an other...and explains it poorly...
so no luck with this!:thumbdown:
i must start learning on my own...the problem is how?

u have any sites that can help a beginner?
any tips?

i really dunno where to start,how to start...:cry:

I've always found that forums are the best places to learn. I just found this forum not to long ago, and I frequent fredmiranda.com quite often too.

For photo editing (photoshop/lightroom) I recommend KelbyTV, its free.

For Lighting I recommend Strobist

For overall photography, Chase Jarvis and Co. just launched an amazing project yesterday. You can take photo classes streamed live for free. Only catch is, if you can't watch it when they are showing it for free, then you'll have to pay to download that lesson. Check out CreativeLive

I'm probably missing some obvious sites, but thats what I came up with on the top of my head. I reviewed a few of these resources on my blog, so if you want, go and check it out.

Steve

Honestly, it sounds like you are way too anxious to get rolling. You sound young... you need to slow down.

A career, whether its in photography, basket weaving, or computer programming, doesn't happen over night.