Proper Lens Maintenance

RobinChen

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi guys I'm actually very new to photography and have a question about Lens maintenance. Since I only have 1 lens right now (Canon 28mm-135mm) I was wondering if i should keep it attached to my camera when I put it away or should I detach it and store it separetely in my bag? I detached it in the first couple of days I had the lens but I found it to not only be a hassle but was also afraid of dust going in and out since it was exposed to air so much. I just read a thread about fungus and I'm really concerned about that happening. As we all know photography can be very pricy and our equipment is definetely a priority. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.
An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure.

Thanks for your time,
Robin

Detaching the lens won't do anything to prevent fungus. Best way to do that is to keep the lens (with or without camera attached) somewhere dry. I keep some of those little packs of silica gel in my camera bags just in case. But there's really no reason to remove the lens from the camera, especially if it's your only lens.

Detaching the lens won't do anything to prevent fungus. Best way to do that is to keep the lens (with or without camera attached) somewhere dry. I keep some of those little packs of silica gel in my camera bags just in case. But there's really no reason to remove the lens from the camera, especially if it's your only lens.

Awesome, that was what I was thinking as well because I only have one Lens. Can you explain what the silica gel is for? I always get those but discarded them right away because I thought you could get intoxicated lol..

if you store the lens + camera in a more or less decent place (not a sealed plastic bag) ... the danger of fungus is not very high.

I never had fungus on lenses I used regularly.