Proper macro lens

cyber_ecco

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I'm new to this hobby, recently purchased a Canon Rebel XTI with a 28mm-135mm lens. I'm needing to take some close up macro shots of some jewelry that I sell at my shop for selling online. I tried using this lens I got, but I'm not able to get close enough to be able to read the engravings on the jewelry. Can anyone recomend a decent lens for this? I don't want anything fancy, and I am on a budget. How are these aftermarket lenses like Sigma? Will they work fine? Can any of you recomend some models I can look into? I'm looking for the most cost effective solution. Please be specific, because I am new, and honsetly I really don't know much. Still learning. Thanks.

Gord.

I love my Tamron 90mm Macro I got it for around 300 at sigma4less.com heres some examples that I had around
IMG_3607copy.jpg

IMG_2697-1.jpg

IMG_2743bw.jpg

hognose.jpg

Nice shots. Yeah...I think around $300 is my budget as well. Of course if I can get something cheaper that will do the job, then I'm all for it. I've seen macro lenses at 50mm and thennow at 90mm. Can anyone tell me what the difference is? Thanks.

Gord.

I have a Fuji S6000fd so it is not an SLR; however, I was able to purchase this macro extender type lens, which I shot my jewelry with a few weeks ago; I need to try it again now that I know a little more what I'm doing, but here is one of the shots.......

since you're interested in shooting jewelry....and pardon the lint -- when I first used the lens, I didn't realize it would pick up EVERYTHING!!! Live and learn.......

tn_2007_0714jewel20027.jpg