Purchasing a Macro lens

Boballoo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I would like to get into macro photography (the bugs here in Japan are spectacular!) but I know nothing about it. I do know that there are people and companies selling "Macro capable" lenses which are not really Macro, but telephoto lenses. The problem is I do not know how to tell the difference. Aside from asking the seller and looking at the original specifications, [FONT=arial, sans-serif]I am unclear about how to figure out if a specific lens will fit my Nikon D40. For example, there is a lens on Ebay for sale called a "[/FONT]Nikon Af 70-300AF Nikkor 70-300 + Macro. 4.5-5.6" It is called a "Macro" but then in the description it says:

Focal Length Type: Zoom
Focal Length:70-300 mm
Type: Macro/Close Up, Telephoto

Obviously I am a beginner, but I would appreciate any help you might provide.

Is the seller tossing in a close-up filter?

The lens you just mentioned is not a macro lens.
What you have to look for in the description is the 1:1 magnification, this is the sign of a true macro lens
this link will give more info on that 1:1 magnification is
Macro photography: Understanding magnification: Digital Photography Review
A true macro lens opens up a world of possibilities. enjoy the experience!

I would like to get into macro photography (the bugs here in Japan are spectacular!) but I know nothing about it. I do know that there are people and companies selling "Macro capable" lenses which are not really Macro, but telephoto lenses. The problem is I do not know how to tell the difference. Aside from asking the seller and looking at the original specifications, I am unclear about how to figure out if a specific lens will fit my Nikon D40. For example, there is a lens on Ebay for sale called a "Nikon Af 70-300AF Nikkor 70-300 + Macro. 4.5-5.6" It is called a "Macro" but then in the description it says:

Focal Length Type: Zoom
Focal Length:70-300 mm
Type: Macro/Close Up, Telephoto