Putting photos from Lightroom on a disc

lfoush

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I have some photos I have edited in lightroom, and I want to put them on a disc for some of my relatives. I'm new to this sort of thing and I was wondering the best way to put photos from Lightroom onto a disc for someone. Should I create a special file and export the photos into it, and then burn the file to a disc? What settings should I use when exporting them? The photos will mainly stay on their computer, but they also might order a couple for prints. If I haven't given enough detail, please let me know. I'm 16 and just now really getting into Lightroom and taking photography seriously. I figured the best way to learn is by asking questions.

I would select the images desired by using the "P", mark as pick keystroke command. Then go to File>Select Flagged Files, and hit the EXPORT command. That will bring up a dialogue box, in which you have to make a bunch of decisions as to where the files go,the format (I would suggest .JPG format) they will be exported in, and the size, pixel per inch number, and the desired end-use--either Screen or Print, glossy or Matte paper, and the degree of sharpening.

I'm gonna say set the output to sRGB color mode, set the ppi at 300, the image size at 2,000 pixels on the long axis, and set output to Screen, Standard sharpening. Those folders will be exported and placed in a folder (directory), which you can burn onto a CD or DVD disc.

If there are only a few files, you could do multiple exports, changing the sizes or other parameters, as needed.

Another good way to learn is to have some good reference materials handy -
Open Lightroom.
Press your keyboard F1 key, or click on Help > Lightroom Help.
Either will take you to Adobe Community Help - Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 4 * Using Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 4