question for a camera pro...

cypilk

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
what do all the numbers mean in lenses?.. i mean.. zoom mm and aperature numbers.

well, here are some of my questions.. what is?!

1. filter size
2. f-stop range
3. maximum focus distance
4. magnification
5. angle of view
6. groups / elements
7. maximum reproduction ratio?
8. whats a teleconverter?

what are some of the units the numbers are in?

yeah..some of these questions are kind of newbie :D :D :D

I'm not a camera pro but...

1. Filter size is the diameter (in millimetres) of the threads on the front of the lens...where you would screw on a filter.

2. F-stop range is the minimum to maximum aperture that the lens can be adjusted to, with respect to the focal length. The lower number is how big the aperture can open (ie: F1.8) and the high number is the smallest the aperture can close down to (ie: F22)

3. Maximum focus distance? Do you mean minimum distance? If so, it's the minimum distance that you have to be from the subject for the lens to be able to focus clearly. (ie: with most lenses, you can't focus if you are less than a foot or two away...

4. Magnification is the magnification factor of the lens. A longer focal length will have a bigger magnification. (ie: a 100mm lens has greater magnification than a 50mm lens)

5. Angle of view is the angle that the lens sees. A longer lens has less angle of view but has more magnification. A wide angle lens captures a wider view but does not magnify very much.

6. Groups \ elements is referring to the number of pieces of glass used in the lens.

7. maximum reproduction ratio, I'm not too sure...but I think it refers to the lens's macro ability. If the lens can focus very close to an object, then it has greater reproduction ratio. It would be the ratio of the size of the object vs the size of the image on the negative.