Question on the colors

Reaction score
Hi. I am a newb that wants to get better, so I have a few questions for "the more experienced" people on this forum. I have a Canon Rebel Ti, that i just bought, and the regular kit lens that came with it. I love my camera, but I am sort of disappointed in the turnout of my photos. They just seem "dull'. I think dull is the right word. For example, when someone on this board posts their picture of a flower bed (i am interested in nature) the colors of the flowers are BURSTING and vibrant. If I were to take that picture, mine just turns out "...eh". I was not sure if it was my film or it was the camera or what. So I asked my neighbor who is a few months into photography.

My neighbor tells me that the reason mine aren't turning out beautiful, are because of my aperture. I usually shoot on the setting of my camera that is "M" for manual. I have no clue what to do for my aperture settings. My extent of knowledge of apertures goes to about light. Also, he says that different films will bring out different colors. I usualy just use Kodak Max Versatility ISO 400 or ISO 800. That is it. Can someone please help me out?

Welcome to TPF! :)

You owe it to yourself to learn the basics of photography. You have a great little camera that will take beautiful, colorful shots for you, but you need to understand the relationship between aperture and shutter speed. And yes, good quality film helps.

Pick up a beginner's photography book and practice what they're showing you. Within a roll or two, the light will come on and your shooting will improve. Visit a photography store and ask for professional grade films.

If you like to shoot slide film, try Fuji for saturated color. It's hard to go wrong with that stuff.

Any local college might offer photography classes in your area, as well. It's a great way to learn because you'll be given assignments and can view your own results, and those of your fellow students.