Question regarding post editing (hue/saturation)

CaptainNapalm

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey folks,

I recently started shooting RAW format for all the benefits everyone talks about, but specifically so that I can adjust the white balance after the picture was taken. I'm liking it so far but I need some clarification on one feature. So when I open a RAW photo in PSE 11 a special 'RAW Editing Menu' pops up allowing me to do a number of adjustments before I proceed to save the file or convert it to JPEG. The first thing I can do is adjust the white balance from which I can pick any one of the standard: cloudy, sunny, fluorescent, as shot, etc. and then fine tune more as required. After using this feature for some time now I notice that it essentially does the same thing as adjusting the 'hue/saturation/lighting' when working in JPEG format. Please correct me if I'm wrong but if that's the case then why does everyone say that the white balance issue can't be corrected in JPEG after taking the picture. I'm suspecting that perhaps PSE is not the best program to edit RAW files to their full capability so that's why maybe I'm missing something. My other guess is that when you're adjusting in RAW you're maintaining picture detail and quality but when adjusting in JPEG any adjustment you make takes away from the photo detail or quality. This would explain why RAW files (even when converted later to JPEG post editing) are so much larger. Some of the other features I get in the RAW menu are sharpness adjustment, denoise adjustment, colour fixes, clarity, etc. all of which are available for editing in JPEG as well. Can someone maybe shed some light?

Thanks in advance!!

Changing the white balance in a raw converter is not at all the same as applying a hue/saturation change to an existing JPEG. Very different operations with very different results.