Questions about working in a studio

NedM

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I took my portfolio, resume and decided to in touch with a local studio in hopes to get hired.

I have no experience in an actual studio but I'm aware of my skills as a photographer.

I showed up and the manager liked my work enough to give me a chance.

She decided she wants me to photograph some graduates at a church their studio was hired for.

She wants to see how I work and all that.

So she assigned me to shadow a photographer.

She said if all goes well, I will be making $50 each time I am sent out onto an event where I am needed.

*Note I am only making about $50 for photographing graduates at a church for about 3-5 hours possibly.

Is this chump change I'm making?

Am I better off trying a different studio?

I want to work in the studio not on location.

It's a test. If you pass the test, you could be worth more.

$50 for 3 hours IS chump change if you are paying taxes on it.

However, if you use it as a chance to show them a good product, you might be able to use it to negotiate a better price next time. Maybe.

Alternatively, that might just be what they are willing to budget.
You could always ask.

If all you're getting is money, it's not worth it. If you're going to get a photographic education from working pros, it's a fortune!

I was thinking the same thing too, but it could be a while before I'm 'worth' anything.
I figured I would have to work my way up from the bottom.

$50 a pop? 3 hours? You can do better than that....on your own if you really think you are good.

I know my skills as a photographer has brought me plenty of paid but I figured I could add some studio experience in my resume.
Yes, 3 hours is a bit much, but I am shadowing a photographer so it's not that bad I suppose.