Quick Help Needed - Food Photography

Samerr9

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all

A friend of a friend of mine is planning to issue his cooking book. He wants 44 photos of all the 44 plates in his book. We will meet tomorrow so I can show him samples and agree on the price.

I made some research on Food Photography and noted the tips.. but I am here for three questions:

1- Did anyone made a simular job earlier? If yes, what is his advise?
2- Shall I price by photo or by a full day work?
3- Will the Canon 50mm 1.4 do the job?

Please note that I am not a professional photographer, but really willing to be one :) Thank you..

1) Yes, practice practice practice. Food photography is nowhere near as easy as it seems.
2) How do you normally work? Do this the same. I personally go by the hour or day rate, depending on how long it takes.
3) On what body? On a crop body, probably, on a full frame, may be a bit too far. But that is a fairly personal choice.

A few more questions.... How do you intend to light it? I used window light for my main, flash for fill on two sides, radio triggered. Do you have a contract? Without one you are just begging for problems. Do you have insurance? If someone trips over your light stand or tripod you could be liable. Do you have documents for a commercial release? If not you will need to get them, some publishers require them for every image in a published book. Where you are, are you required to collect sales tax, and if so, do you have the required permits for that?

Allan

I'd think 50mm will be great. I am not expert, but I think using a prime will be good for this scenario. You don't want the 44 photos to have varying perspective distortions, so a fixed focal length for all of them will help maintain some kind of consistency.