quick question

jamesparker1250

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Quick question if you guys don't mind ? I'm still pretty new at photography but in the last couple weeks I have been taking photos at night or poorly lit areas and i'm having a hard time locking on focus points is there anything you can suggest .

Manual focus. That's about all you can do when you don't have enough light for AF to work.

Do your lenses have distance scales on them? In my experience, they're fairly accurate.

Quick question if you guys don't mind ? I'm still pretty new at photography but in the last couple weeks I have been taking photos at night or poorly lit areas and i'm having a hard time locking on focus points is there anything you can suggest .

Carry a flashlight with you to help with focusing. I try to do that at times.

Most modern DSLR's have a built in focus assist light that will come on momentarily to assist with focusing in low light. If you don't have this then as Ron said above carry a flashlight.

got a Nikon D3200 and been using my nifty fifty

The focus assist is only good out to a certain distance, but unless you're shooting with a very long lens, a good guess on the focus distance in manual focus should have enough depth of field to keep you covered. And as suggested, a good flashlight will illuminate something well enough to focus on it.

Make sure your AF-Assist light is on; use single-point AF, and consider Ron's suggestion of the flashlight.

Does the Nikon version have a distance scale (a little window that shows what distance it is focused to) - the Canon 'nifty fifty' doesn't, but I've never handled the Nikon version.