Rain drops.

Toofasttotake

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi. I would just like to say first i am very new to photography. So, i have lots of questions, but i will start with this one. Is it possible to take a clear picture of raindrops falling using a Canon Rebel XTI? The lens i am using is the orginal lens that came with the camera when i bought it(35-75mm?). The mode i'm trying to take the rain drops on is sports in burst mode. I tried already, but they come out blurry ,and it seems the shutter is not fast enough. In sports mode, i cannot change Aperture or ISO because it is auto only. Does anyone have any advice or help they could give me on this matter?​

Welcome to TPF! :)

sports mode is too slow for this I think
What you need is TV mode - that is shutter priority mode - which lets you set the shutter speed and the camera picks an aperture to match for a (what it thinks) good exposure. That would let you get the speed to freeze the action of the falling drop - using the popup flash might also help, though then your speed is maxed at 1/200sec - but rainfall usually means lower light - which means faster shutter speeds might not have enough light for a good exposure.

After that focusing would be an issue - I would suggest setting the camera to MF - manual focusing (little switch on the lens) and twisting it to infinity - 8 on its side on the lens focusing ring.

That is what I would do were I after such shots, though I have never taken them before so others might disagree - but that is where I would start