Rain Rain Rain

Discussion in 'Nikon Cameras' started by flashbax, Jan 4, 2013.

1. flashbax

flashbax TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Ok I've been waiting to get out with the new D3100, Its rained nonstop now for days "wettest winter on record" I can't wait any longer I'm going out but before I do how is the D3100 in terms of taking a bit of rain on the body and lens?
    I obviously don’t plan on getting it soaked and will be taking what I can to help shelter my camera.
    And taking advantage of the weather any tips on setting up for grey gloomy rain soaked days. I'd like to try and get the actual water droplets in focus but with being a total noob I'm not sure my camera and lens is up to the task.

2. duncanp

duncanp No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    If you've got a large umbrella kicking about then just take that out with you and you'd be surprised at how much rain you can avoid with one. I often end up working on wet days in wet gritty environments and an umbrella proves invaluable!

As for how much rain your particular body can take, the odd drop or two obviously won't hurt it but try to avoid it getting wet enough for water to start sitting on the camera around the buttons and near seals etc.

3. flashbax

flashbax TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Yeah was toying with the idea of a brolly, wind issues up here and especially where I'm going to take my images might destroy it. Was thinking of getting under trees ect but still it’s risky like you say it’s getting the body to wet and it’s a new camera not sent of warranty off yet.

4. KmH

KmH In memoriam Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
  5. shadowlands

shadowlands No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Move to Arizona!!! Ha!!!

6. TheLost

TheLost No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
  7. flashbax

flashbax TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit