Range or Speed? (Help me pick a lens)

Worsty

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
So I have a dilemma I was hoping you would all assist me with.

I recently was getting to set to buy a Sigma 50-150 f2.8. The theory was that it would act as my moderate-range tele with a nice bokeh for portraits, and complement my (Canon 7D) lens collection of 50mm f1.4, 15-85mm f3.5-5.6, 35mm f1.4, & 85mm f1.8.

However, a recent craigslist ad in my area popped up with someone selling a (apparently top quality condition) Canon 35-350mm f3.5-5.6L for the exact price as the Sigma.

Now I understand they are vastly different products, but I'm a relatively poor student and can't afford both at this time. On one hand, I want something fast that has some range and will deliver a decent bokeh. On the other hand, the flexibility of a 10x zoom with very good image quality reviews for a bargain price is very appealing also.

Here's what I know about these two products:

====Sigma 50-150mm f2.8=====
PROS:
-Fast 2.8
-Has a very useable range
-Nice bokeh from 9-blade
-Good build quality & product quality

Cons:
-Reportedly has front-focusing issues on some copies
-150mm is only a moderate tele range
-Sigma tends to lose value faster than Canon
-No IS

====Canon 35-350mm F3.5-5.6L====
Pros:
-Epic 10x zoom range, for use as a solid walk-around lens
-Legendary L series build quality & value
-Relatively inexpensive compared to it's book value
-Has the 72mm filter size that my 15-85 shares
-Good compression from 300mm

Cons:
-Relatively slow lens
-Sharpness does suffer overall for zoom range
-Less exciting bokeh at 50-150 range than Sigma
-Also no IS

---

So that's about it. Anything you would like to add or what your choice would be, I would greatly appreciate hearing. I have a couple days to choose so I'm hoping to get a ton of feedback from the veterans here.

Thanks in advance!

Unless you discuss the purpose driving such purchase, any suggestion anyone makes is utterly useless.....