RangeFinder???

laudrup

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi Guy's,

does anyone have any experience with rangefinders? I'm thinking of treating myself to one. I'm planning on doing some street photography and would love a camera less conspicuous than my canon t90...it's shutter sounds like two small continents colliding!!! Its a brute of cam and stands out a mile!

Any advice would be appreciated..i'm not sure what to plump for i've heard the inexpensive Canon & Yashica fixed lens models can produce some impressive results.

However I'm not sure whether it would be better to buy a decent quality model like the voigtlander bessa r3a, a second hand contax g2 (which can be picked up for a bargain nowadays) or perhaps even go for an old beat up leica...something like an M2 maybe.

Any advice or recommendations etc are much appreciated. I'd like to know what models people like so I can get out and handle some and see what suits me best.

All the best

Laudrup :)

I have very little experience, but the little I've had has mostly been good. I'd suggest you pick up an old rangefinder like a Voigtlander Vito (you can pick them up on Ebay for silly money - I recently got one for £7) to see if you like the results, before you go looking for the more expensive types. Then again like I said, I've had very little experience, so my opinion is mostly useless :)

You could pick up a good reliable Canon GIII rangefinder real cheap. Compact, nice sharp lens, simple, and I personally like the way they look. Most will only need minor light seal replacement ( real easy to do yourself ).

96607402.jpg

laudrup said:
Hi Guy's,

does anyone have any experience with rangefinders? I'm thinking of treating myself to one. I'm planning on doing some street photography and would love a camera less conspicuous than my canon t90...it's shutter sounds like two small continents colliding!!! Its a brute of cam and stands out a mile!