Rates and contracts for glamour / portraiture

JClishe

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm a hobbyist glamour / portraiture photographer and I'm a member of a local studio so I have a monthly block of studio hours that I use.

I don't charge models, I'm always the one paying. However, I'm beginning to get more requests for shoots from models, local referrals, etc. I want to have a standard rate card and contract for these scenarios. Either I present rates to these models and they go away, which is fine, or they agree to pay me, which is also fine.

I'm curious how other photographers structure their rate cards for glamour / portraiture studio sessions. I'm thinking something along the lines of $xx for 2-3 hours of shooting and the deliverable is x number of edited high resolution watermarked images?

Like I said, my intent is not to proactively market paid work and I have no illusions of ever being profitable. I simply want to have a response for models that reach out to me and am curious about what other photographers charge, what the deliverables are, and any examples of contracts. Any assistance that anyone is willing to provide would be awesome. Thanks!

$100 an hour and $50 per edited hi-res photo.

For a 2-3 hour session my time would cost a model $500 to $750.
The model would have to meet a minimum product purchase requirement to qualify for digital files of the photos I choose to sell. My contract stated I would deliver 20-25 finished images per hour of shooting.
I basically needed to make a minimum of $1000 for each hour of shooting time.
Each hour of shooting time usually caused 3 hours of pre/post behind the scenes work, which is why I needed $1000/hour of shooting to make a living.

In other words, what a working photographer needs to charge is way more than you would need to charge.

In other words, what a working photographer needs to charge is way more than you would need to charge.