Raw to .Jpg conversion issues

tyusha

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all. I am new here so if i sound lost or just plain wrong forgive me :) Also before referrals to the search button begin i have to say that i did use search, and did not find anything related directly to my issue. My issue is this. I have been shooting with my beloved Nikon D50 for the past 2 years and only recently came to a realization that all the images i converted from raw to .jpg look flat, washed out and just plain unsaturated when opened with any windows application like picture and fax viewer for example. However when i open that same .jpg image in photoshop (CS2) the image looks fine if not the same as raw. The little knowledge i have tells me that this is a color space issue. However despite my stubborn attempts at trying to figure this issue out on my own I have to give up, and ask for help. Any insight on the issue will be greatly appreciated. thanks

And your little knowledge is correct. It is most likely a colour space issue. The easiest way to check is to open one of those jpegs and click edit assign profile and check which one it is currently set to. If it is IEC sRGB then this is not the problem. If it's set to anything else then it is and should be set to sRGB (but not via the assign profile tool but the convert profile tool)

Do you open RAWs in photoshop? In the cameraRAW menu at the bottom I think there's an option for what colour space to use (at least there was back when I used it). I think it defaults to AdobeRGB.

From the programs you mention, I believe Photoshop is the only colour managed application on that list.

Not sure if calibrating your monitor would help?