RAW with High ISO

keith204

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I started shooting RAW quite a bit more than I ever have, and couldn't believe how much better my high-ISO shots look. It's unreal. The grain doesn't look bad...it actually looks good IMO. It leaves SO many details that are lost with high-ISO jpegs. I haven't done a side-by-side test yet, but I will sometime to show it. Anyway, pretty excited & had to share :)

Oh yeah, when you have the time/space, there's no other way. That's why camera high-ISO tests are worthless without looking at the RAW files, that's where the real meat is.

I started shooting RAW quite a bit more than I ever have, and couldn't believe how much better my high-ISO shots look. It's unreal. The grain doesn't look bad...it actually looks good IMO. It leaves SO many details that are lost with high-ISO jpegs. I haven't done a side-by-side test yet, but I will sometime to show it. Anyway, pretty excited & had to share :)

What you are seeing (somebody correct me if I am wrong) is the removal of the noise suppression that your camera uses in high ISO JPEG pictures.

I know my D300 is vastly sharper in RAW when I push it past 3200 ISO up into the higher limits of the ISO range.

Image quality at 1600 ISO and below isn't affected with the D300 (at least not to my eyes at 100 percent). 3200 is about where you start to see a difference in sharpness between RAW & JPEG on my camera.

I ALWAYS shoot RAW when shooting at 3200 and above... even though 6400 ISO shows some noise, it is still quite sharp on the D300 with RAW... but not with JPEG.