Re-Inventing Yourself

LarissaPhotography

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.larissaphotography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
How often do you find that you have to reinvent yourself as a photographer to stay competitive? I know a number of photographers who have missed the boat by continuing to do things in a way that worked 20 years ago, but no longer is effective.

Are you referring to 'professional' photographers? I'm not a pro, and don't even want to be, but it has to be like other things: 1) if you have a 'formula' and it works, you use it as long as it works, or 2) you be cutting edge and hope it works.

What kinds of things are they doing that you don't think are effective?

How often do you find that you have to reinvent yourself as a photographer to stay competitive? I know a number of photographers who have missed the boat by continuing to do things in a way that worked 20 years ago, but no longer is effective.

Very often and it is much like surfing. Stay ahead of the wave and when it starts to run out move into something else. I started in film photography, moved to video and colour when it first began in the 70s, then multi-screen large scale photo productions, actually making presentations to large and small audiences using multi-media, graphics, advertising, and computer animation, digital photography, and multimedia digital productions and presentations. newspaper journalism and editing, politics and public relations photography and media management.

It was not so much any need to stay competitive but moving into areas where I had little or no competition. I did it because I enjoyed it and it was fun.

skieur

Never been working the same way for 26 years , if you need to reinvent yourself as a photographer your obviously doing something wrong .

Never been working the same way for 26 years , if you need to reinvent yourself as a photographer your obviously doing something wrong .