PhilGarber

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
philipofnj.redbubble.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi-

I'm interested getting into real estate photography and I have a few questions.

1) Is this done as stand alone work or do photographers just pick up such things as jobs?

2) Why kind of set up would I need? I have a 350D with an IS 18-55mm lens and a Tital tripod. What other things would I need? What flash? Would I need lighting?

3) Is this job open to minors? I'm 14 and can legally get a working permit in NJ. Can this work be done without a degree?

Thanks,

Phil,

I'd talk to Manaheim on here. He does real estate and does a very good job. He could probably lead you in the direction...

I have no experience in the feild, but here are my thoughts anyways:

When we were moving, our realestate company took photos of our house. They did them in HDR, and I think worked quite well.

I also know this ( ByTheOwner.com - Real Estate Canada - Homes "for sale by owner" - Sell your house ) site/realestate group takes HDR photos aswell. Some are a bit weird, but I think for the most part they are successful for the realestate job, though not always good photography.

The other thing is to use a wideangle lens and a tripod, both of which you have!

Hope some of that's usefull!

There are all kinds of different things being done in real estate photography these days. In my neck of the wood most agents do virtual tours.

You need to check the websites of your local agencies to see what is done in your area. But at 14 you've got a major problem. How will you get to the jobs?

At your age, I would try and do fairs, flea markets and such events that you can do on the weekends. Shoot stuff that appeals easily to people (flowers, birds, some artsy stuff but not too artsy, etc), mat some prints and try to sell them. People want to spend money when they go to those things and if you don't price them too high you might be surprised.