Rebel Xti or Nikon D40

Matt 181

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I really want to get into photography and I was wondering which camera would best suit a beginner. Which one should I get the Canon Rebel XTi or the NIkon D40?

Hi, I am just starting out too and I was in the same spot as you, debating over both those cameras. I ended up getting the Nikon d40x. Both are supposed to be pretty similar cameras but Ken Rockwell recommended the Nikon so I went for it. So far I am happy but need to learn how to really use it.

Either would suit a beginner. The D40x is not fully compatible with as many Nikon lenses as the Rebel is with Canon ones, but honestly I can think of no convincing reason to recommend going with one company over the other (or indeed the others which people seem to forget about). Just see which you think you'd like more.

BTW obviously everyone is free to make their own decisions for their own reasons, but personally I would never, ever do something because Ken Rockwell recommends it. Once someone has written a review of a lens they have never seen (as he has done), I find it very difficult to look to them for buying advice. Apart from which, brand choice is really not something he can be objective about.

i own an xti and ive shot a d40 and a d80...

i like the xti over the d40 but i liked the d80 over the xti... but its all personal preference. go and hold them in your hand, take a few shots with each and see which one you like the best. it isnt like a car... these two really are both amazing camera's, personal difference is the deciding factor

I have the D40x and really like it so far. Im still learning myself so its like my beginner camera. Ive heard great things about the XTi too though

they are both suitable cameras for you. i personally have nikons because i like they way they feel in my hand, but as crazy as this sounds, i really like the sound a canon's shutter makes. anyhow, i agree with above, go and try them out to get a feel for them