Recreating a similar look with DSLR

daggertrepe

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
​Since I was told to post it here:

Ok, so there is this shoot I'm basing my next one off of (I'm still a rookie yet), the the picture I'm basing it off of is this:

http://i.models.com/i/db/2010/8/27376/27376-800w.jpg

Credit: Boo George.

Obviously, I'm not going to be able to get that exact effect with the equipment I have, compared to a professional. I have a Nikon D5100 and an 85mm lens. My question is, with these tools (and any others you think might be helpful, including light source, etc), how can I achieve a similar look?

Thanks!

Last edited:
What you will be told very soon is to replace the images with links to them, since they are not yours.
Camera and lens are ok, you will need adequate lighting (I'm too much beginner for a concrete answer, but looking at the first picture, for me you need at least 3 sources - two in front, low, symmetric, and one behind, on the right). Unless you mean just the rough, contrasty, sharp aspect of these pictures, which maybe you can simulate with some LightRoom action.

Shadows, or a lack of shadows, shows where the lighting is.

The essense of photography is recording the light. The #1 task for the photographer is to manage the light.

That photograph looks like a ring flash may have been used, (plus other lighting), although there isn't the tell-tale reflection in the model's eyes.

However I would think that a lot of the look of the photo has been created in post.

I already posted in the previous thread. Thanks for reading it.

I think it's been mentioned before. A good way of achieving the effect is to shoot on an overcast day and expose for the blacks.

View attachment 6048