Red Carpet Event Photography

photodeb

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I need your advice if you are able. Tomorrow night I am about to shoot my first red carpet event. I have never done this before and all I own really is a Canon XTI, the lens it came with and an additional Canon EF 135 mm lens. Obviously I believe I may have some shopping to do before the event.
what is the least I can get away with-equipment wise.. since money is tight and quite honestly since Ive never done this before Im quite nervous....

The party planner emailed me to let me know what he wanted and mentioned if I could get a strobe so it looks more professional..this is for a company event where it is a red carpet theme. I've never used a strobe and quite frankly dont even know much about them.

I've been shooting for only 3 months and my only focus has been portraits in natural light. Please help if you can- its tomorrow night...

Welcome to the forum.

If it's an night...you will need a strobe. I suggest the Canon 430EX. It's not particularly cheap...but it's a darn good flash. If you can find the older version, the 420EX...it might be cheaper.

Don't get a Canon 'EZ' flash...they don't work well with new cameras like yours.

The advantage of getting a Canon flash...is that it will work with the camera and use all the fancy technology. It should really help...if you don't know what you are doing.

You really don't want to use the built-in flash. It's not very powerfull...and the chance of red eye is pretty high.

Thanks for the advice! I'm assuming the lens that came with the camera should be ok...?

It's certainly not the greatest lens, or even a pretty good one...but it's not terrible. (well the build quality is terrible...but the glass is OK).

I have that lens...and to get the best quality out of it...I avoid shooing at it's widest (18mm)...and I avoid shooing with the aperture wide open (F3.5-F5.6)...I like to keep it at F8 if I can.