Refurb, Used, Or New Lens?

jboogie8705

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm an amateur photographer and I'm looking for a replacement for my Sigma 28-70mm lens, particularly the Canon 28-135mm IS USM lens. The problem is that I don't want to pay over 400 bucks for this lens. I've seen a refurbished one for $350 and a used one for $360, and of course the new ones for around $410. Can someone help with deciding between the refurb and the used, first, before I shelve out $400 bucks for the new one? Thanks!

I purchased the same lens, used, from KEH. I think I paid $350. The glass and operations are in perfect condition. The problem with this lens, which they didn't tell me at the time, is that this particular lens has a tendancy to become loose. Meaning that the zoom extends freely. It doesn't effect the image, but it would be a certain problem for shooting towards the ground if mounted on a tripod.
Matter of fact, if you attempt to sale this lens to KEH, they ask if it has a 'normal' or 'loose' barrel.
So with that said, I probably only made your decision harder :lol: I have no problem buying a used lens, as long as I know where it's coming from.

i say go new if you can especily of this is somthing expensive and wich will last. its $50 for new i would spend the extra

All my kit is second hand but it comes from someone who I know and trests his equipment like it's nitrus oxide! I'd only buy new from now on until he has another clean out.

IMO It's worth a few extra bucks to get it new. At least then, you know the background and how it's been maintained. If it was say 150$ difference, I'd go with a second hand. Your only talking a 15% savings.