Reluctant to ask Assistant Question

dpolston

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have been playing around with this photography "business" dream for awhile and I think that I am trying to fast track myself into the business. I am a 38 year old father of 2, self employed, building contractor. I am trying to promote this part of my life like the rest which is very much purely self driven successes and failures. I have the website ready to be officially launched, I have the blog, I have the portfolio, the camera and the goodies that go with it (although I need a good dedicated flash), I am however not in the position to blindly start all over again in this stage of life.

It seems like a lifetime ago (early 90's), I worked full time as a studio photographer that shot female portraits (formals to high heals and a smile). It was an established studio that had very nice equipment but it was already dialed in when I got there. The lights were set, the camera (Mamiya C330's) were mounted and the hardest thing we did was try to be somewhat creative in a generic, 6 light, 3 photographer studio. "Advanced Glamor Shots".

Now I look at so many websites of you guys and see and hear of the travels, money, good and bad experiences, equipment and stories you tell. I am amazed and envious every day of some shot you've taken, client you have or studio you've set up and I know that a successful business can be achieved.

My inner struggle is getting back to the basics and re-learning photography 101 techniques. I should brush up on real basics (exposer, f-stop stuff, etc.) but what I really want to know is if I need to be asking about working as an assistant for someone locally. Frankly sometimes I just want to throw all my cameras away and say forget it all. Why do I need a camera that costs 1600 bucks and a lens that cost me 1000 bucks to take snapshots of "leaves on my driveway" ( http://davidpolston.blogspot.com/2007/10/feaf-prints.html )