resolution

Djurchicprelude

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
so i took some digital pics that are 3072 x 2304 and am confused about something called resolution, i want to get some of these pics printed but someone told me i need a resolution of 300 or something. how do i find out what the resolution of these pics are? if its any easyer for you guys could u tell me what what sizes i can get it printed with it still being nice and crisp? thanks and sorry, i know its probably a total noob question. im just getting into photography but loving it. thanks again

You'll need some software like photoshop or gimp to change the resolution.

What you have to be careful of though is the file size after you change it. When you change the resolution from 72dpi or whatever it is probably set to atm to 300 dpi (dots per inch) then your picture will get bigger (ie it'll go from 20MB to something like 400MB). So you then have to physically change the height and width of the picture so that it's roughly the same MB size as before.

So with that size you mentioned you could get something like a 7 x 10 or some weird shape slightly biggger. You can of course make a bigger print, but then you start adding in pixels and that's when you get loss of quality.

If you image is 3072 x 2304 pixels, that is your image size. Your resolution is the number of pixels per inch (PPI). The default is usually 72, which is good for viewing on a computer. So that image at 72 PPI would be 42" x 32" on a computer at 100%...very big.

If you changed the resolution to 300 PPI you would have an image about 10" x 7".

Typically printing is done at 300 dots per inch (DPI)...so the size at 300 PPI is the same size when printed at 300 DPI.

It is possible to change the image size, to make it bigger but this requires the software to do some interpretation...the bigger you go, the more interpretation, the worse the image will look.