Responsibility for other photogs?

RMThompson

the TPF moderators rock my world!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Recently an acquaitance of mine had a bad experience with a photog. She doesn't live near me, and hired someone in her state to take some "bodouir" pictures of her to send to her husband, and to make a long story short the pictures got plastered all over the photogs website and Myspace, without permission. She learned her lesson and had it out with the photog.

However I, being curious, checked out this photog and their services. I was appalled to see some terribly photography, technically speaking as well as artisitcally, and even worse PRICING. These pictures had numerous mistakes each, which is fine for a learner, I make mistakes all the time since I am still new at this, but the photog was charging up to 200 dollars PER HOUR, with no prints.

I wanted to email the photog and yell at them, but I didn't. I wanted to tell people on Myspace, but I didnt... but I felt weird because I felt responsible and ashamed that someone calling themselves a photographer would take advantage.

So the question is:

AS photographers do we take SOME resposibility for each other?

discuss!

No. If I felt responsible for all the inept, unethical, and possibly illegal activities of people in my profession, I'd be suicidal by now.

That's not to say one should not assist another person when one can reasonably do so. That's wholely different from taking responsibility for the actions of a third party.

Aside from the quiet "You know you're going to Hell for this, don't you?" there's not much we can do. The freedoms we have are freely abused by some but too precious to give up to stop them.

The best you can do is to educate as many as you can to what it means to be a Professional and thereby severely limit the hacks ability to make a living.