Retro Pin Up Photography

plp85

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi I'm an amateur photographer, relatively new to the art (and these forums)...

Recently a friend has expressed an interest in retro / traditional pin up modelling (vargas girls) and asked if I would do the photography.

Having zero experience in modelling / portrait photography I would appreciate some advice on the sort of setup required for this.

Thanks in advance.

Phil

Sent from my HTC Desire using PhotoForum

What's Vargas?

How much money do we have to spend?

Your going to need the right clothes, set, lighting, film camera, and slide film.

You'll need to learn how to pose a model and do strobed light photography.

You'll want main, fill, hair, kicker, rim, and background lights with several types of light modifiers like umbrellas, softboxes, diffusion panels (silks/scrims) flags, snoots, etc.

Reflectors come in handy for both adding and subtracting light.

Your going to need the right clothes, set, lighting, film camera, and slide film.

You'll want main, fill, hair, kicker, rim, and background lights with several types of light modifiers like umbrellas, softboxes, diffusion panels (silks/scrims) flags, snoots, etc.

I've found you can achieve a great pin up lighting set up with four strobes. Two blowing out your white background and two on 45 degree angles from the subject about 12 inches over her head angled down with 7 inch reflectors attached to the bare bulb.

example

suzi-4.jpg

Another question, would the type of lighting / camera settings vary with skin tone? are there any differences between shooting a white model, an oriental model, a black model, etc?

Another question, would the type of lighting / camera settings vary with skin tone? are there any differences between shooting a white model, an oriental model, a black model, etc?