Reverse Lens Mounting

Chiuy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I've just recently read an article about Reverse Lens Mounting where you can just put the ends of the lens to take an extreme macroshot.
101 Photos Taken With the Lens Detached

I never knew you could do this... so I've decided to tried it myself.
I'm a newb, so I have no idea what I am doing... I'm using my 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 standard lens. So, I flip it backward and I try to take a picture of it, and nothing really happens. I can't seem to focus on the subject or even get any picture on my viewfinder, etc.

If anyone could teach me how to do this, it's much appreciated.

How would it connect to the body? Try google or you tube

You loose all brains of the lens including manual focus. You will have to open up the aperture wide open, use your live view and manually focus on the subject. You will have a very shallow DOF.

you need a reverse mount
Amazon.com: Fotodiox 58mm Filter Thread Lens, Macro Reverse Ring Camera Mount Adapter for Canon EOS 1d,1ds,Mark II, III, IV, 5D, Mark II, 7D, 10D, 20D, 30D, 40D, 50D, 60D, Digital Rebel xt, xti, xs, xsi, t1i, t2i, 300D, 350D, 400D, 450D, 500D, 550D,
get one that fits the size of your lens (58mm, 72mm...) screw the lens onto the mount, then mount to the camera, your fstop will be whatever your "at rest" fstop is of the lens. Adjust shutter speed as needed for exposure and have a steady hand to hold focus. it can create some awesome shots if you practice enough

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
You don't NEED a reverse mount. It's easier when you got one, I'm sure, but so far I took all the reversed lens photos that I have taken so far with the lens only HELD to the "hole" in reverse manner. And it works, only might it be a tad more difficult.