Rookie problems

Michael Cardenas

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi everyone :). I just purchased a new camera and I'm having what feels like some "rookie difficulties" :). When I try to transfer photos from my memory card on to my computer the pictures are pitch black. I went through the settings on my camera before I started shooting. Any reason this might be happening? Thanks for your input:).

Hi everyone :). I just purchased a new camera and I'm having what feels like some "rookie difficulties" :). When I try to transfer photos from my memory card on to my computer the pictures are pitch black. I went through the settings on my camera before I started shooting. Any reason this might be happening? Thanks for your input:).

When you view the photos on your camera, do they look normal?

Are the photos visible when you view them in playback mode on the camera? Are these raw or jpeg files? What program are you using on your pc?

Are the photos visible when you view them in playback mode on the camera? Are these raw or jpeg files? What program are you using on your pc?

Ah yes, my bet is they were shot in RAW and the computer does not have a program able to process RAW.

Just need to download a program that can handle RAW - some free ones out there. And switch to jpeg file format and try that with some new shots.

Or - left the lens cap on

Hey Michael ... not sure which camera model you bought. Usually you get some software with it.

The manufacturer's software knows how to open their own files.