Rules and guidelines for shooting at certain places

SnappingShark

Always learning.
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I want to take my semi-new 70-200 to the airport and shoot some planes!

I've never done this before, and given I am not a citizen in the U S of A, I wanted to cover my ass!

So I emailed the airport. My email got bounced around and finally landed in the right spot.

I've been asked what I'll be doing with the photographs once I'm done. I said nothing, they're just for me to enjoy the lens with and get practice.

Nothing else has been discussed besides this - for example they haven't told me where I can or cannot shoot from, so I am expecting to be shooting from just beyond the fence. Which is still airport property.

Boring story, but leads me to my question, which is:
What have been the STRICTEST rules you have ever been given in terms of shooting?

Well clearly the strictest rules simply = "No you can't shoot from our property at all."

Not sure I understand the question.

I doubt you will be allowed to shoot from any part of the airport property. I would look for an office building or park that is in the flight path and take your photos from there. I don't know which airport you are near so I can't say for sure if this idea would work or not. In the DC area the two major airports either have a public park or other easy place to get photos from (for instance my office building is along the flight path for one of the runways). I'd check out the area.

If you are looking to get shots of the planes on the ground I think you may be out of luck unless you know someone who has clearance and can get you access (like a pilot or driver for FedEx/UPS).

Well clearly the strictest rules simply = "No you can't shoot from our property at all."

Not sure I understand the question.

OK smartass - what have been the strictest GUIDELINES.