Savoy Mark II

takkunelwood

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Please note first that I am an amateur like whoa over here, having used only point-and-shoot varieties and an 80s-model 35mm with focus and good lenses.

I picked up an old Savoy Mark II green bakelite camera at a thrift shop the other day, since it was only 75 cents and I've been wanting to experiment with older cameras. However, it's missing its intake spool. This camera takes 620 film, and I've read a little on the respooling of 120 onto the rolls. What I want to know is whether I need to buy a 620 spool, or if a 120 would fit. I also found, when googling, a photo taken with this model camera, and the photographer said that they respooled 35mm film into it. What's my best solution, and where do I even buy stuff like that? (I'm on a VERY tight budget, btw.) Like I said, I'm an extreme amateur, never developed my own stuff in a darkroom (had the opportunity once, but the lesson was cancelled so to speak), never worked with any film more advanced than your average spool of 35mm and 110 film (my god, I hated that stuff.)

Thanks, but I've already read those. I meant is there any OTHER information, namely any that is specific to the camera I've got? Or any kind of help for someone who's never respooled in their life? I don't have a bunch of money to waste buying film I'm not familiar with just to screw it up.

Thanks, but I've already read those. I meant is there any OTHER information, namely any that is specific to the camera I've got? Or any kind of help for someone who's never respooled in their life? I don't have a bunch of money to waste buying film I'm not familiar with just to screw it up.

You can buy a roll of 620 print film from B&H here:
Kodak | Portra-160VC 620 Professional Color Print Film (ISO-160)

and send it here for processing:
A trusted name in photo processing for over 50 years - Dwayne's Photo

Another place to buy 620 film is here: