Scared about buying D800.

Lightsped

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am fairly new to the photography thing. I have a D3100, and a D7000. I enjoy macro photography and animal photography the most. I mostly do handheld shooting. I have a decent amount of lenses already.

One of my weaknesses it camera shake (see my 24-70 F2.8 post in the lens section). I have read that the D800 demands a very smooth hand. I don't do alot of tripod shooting. I hate to spend the money on a D800 and get frusterating results, or have to reduce the MP useage in order to combat camera shake.

Yes, I know I should work on my technique as obviously it isn't as good as some others. What should I do regarding the D800 purchase decision? Is a smooth hand as necessary as reported for the D800?

Thanks

I don't see why the d800 would require more of a steady hand, other than the fact that it has super high resolution, thus magnifying flaws. I wouldn't worry about it, you pretty much answered your own question, assuming you are practicing to get better, your steadiness will improve. The main question I think you should be asking yourself is whether, as a relative beginner, do you need a d800 at this point? What is your lens line-up?

If it's really that much of a problem, use a tripod or monopod as much as possible.

Well... You could always bump up ISO and shoot at a faster shutter rate...
Or just use a monopod, I wouldn't let something like camera shake stop the purchase of a D800.
Unless you have some sort of health anomaly that does not allow you to hold your hand still...

Camera shake is the result of slow shutter speed, buying the D800 means you can shoot in much higher ISO then the D3100 and still keep perfect picture, higher ISO means faster shutter speed.

So I think buying the D800 potentially can result in better pictures then what you have now