Scholarships or Grants?

Meeskephoto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys, I am a photography student and I am really trying to put together a good kit and maybe a photo trip over Christmas break, I was wandering if anyone knew of any grants or scholarships available for photo students so I could fund something of the sort? Even competitions or anything where I could earn some photographic bucks.

Hey guys, I am a photography student and I am really trying to put together a good kit and maybe a photo trip over Christmas break, I was wandering if anyone knew of any grants or scholarships available for photo students so I could fund something of the sort? Even competitions or anything where I could earn some photographic bucks.

Indiegogo
Kickstarter

Usually with grants and scholarships, the organization funding ten wants something in return.

Hence, they're granting you money for a specific and substantial project

I checked the NEA - National Endowment for the Arts - for individuals they only have
[h=3]Translation Projects[/h]Translation Projects enable recipients to translate work from other languages into English. Non-matching grants are for $12,500 or $25,000, depending upon the artistic excellence and merit of the project.
Deadline: Dec 9, 2013
Notification: Aug 2014
Earliest Start Date: Nov 1, 2014
- See more at: http://arts.gov/grants/apply-individuals#sthash.ZYTCEVEc.dpuf

If you applied now, it's not likely you could get a scholarship or a grant until sometime around the middle of 2014, if that soon.
Do you have any experience writing scholarship or grant proposals? It's usually a competitive process.
Poorly prepared proposals/applications usually get put in the round file.

Be aware, TPF does not allow crowd funding links like Indiegogo, and Kickstarter.

Last edited: