SD Card Speed

JasonLambert

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.flickr.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I have been shooting with my class 4 card for a while now and never had a problem with it bogging me down if I needed to burst 3 or 4 shots (RAW). In fact I know when I first got the card it was able to take 6-10 shot bursts (RAW) without a problem.

The other day I was out taking some shots of my daughter and she was running so I held the shutter release down and got "click click............... click............... click" The first two were quick but the last two were about 3 seconds apart.

Now from what I have read, a class 4 has a minimum write speed of 4 MB/Sec but most do faster than their rating. I know I should be using a class 6 or greater in my XSI but just haven't gotten around to it. My question is, do SD cards slow down over time? Also, do you recommend one brand over another and why?

Thanks,
Jasn

Maybe try formatting it? I'm not an expert, but I believe I read somewhere, where "deleted" artifacts left on your card can slow it down considerable over time. Might be worth looking into to salvage some of those old cards.

Jason

Were the batteries fresh?

as mentioned above, have you recently formatted your card in the camera?

How full was the card?

What speed is your camera capable of?

Yes, The batteries were fresh and I format the card in the camera after dumping the previous images onto the computer every time. This happens even when everything is fresh and I have just started shooting. My XSI should do a 3.5 frames per second burst shooting for up to 53 JPEG or six RAW frames. I can't even get close.

I dont recall that happening with my XSI, and I was shooting Class 4 Lexar cards. Odd... I think people have covered the basics of what to look for, batteries, formatting,...