Sekonic L-758DR Light Meter

PicturePerfect1

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello, I am a college student and am looking to purchase the Sekonic L-758DR light meter. I am shopping around and am not in any big hurry (being a college student I am broke and looking for the best possible deal). So far I am finding a price around $500, does anyone know of any student discounts, deals etc. Any help would be greatly appreciated... also if anyone has used one I would also be interested in any feedback on if you liked it, and/or if you have found something cheaper that you feel is just as good.

Thank you,
SMG

I don't know of any discounts, sorry. Are you a member of PPA or WPPI? They most likely would have one.
You could also do a seach for "discount codes Sekonic". It just might just come up. I've lucked out a few ways that time.
Anyhoo, I have the same unit, and it's super. You will love it.
Good luck and happy clicking!

I’ve had one since they came out about a year ago, and it has become my most used meter for still photography. I wrote a brief review of it here, and mentioned other aspects of it in a few other threads: link; link; link; link, including comments on sensitivity in low light.

Whether or not it is the ideal meter for you, and whether or not a cheaper meter would work just as well (or better) depends on exactly what you want to do with it.

Here is a picture of it beside a Profisix and a Color-Pro 3F (which is the same size as a LunaStar, for example).

6457047-lg.jpg

Best,
Helen

I agree with Helen. There are plenty of cheaper light meters that would probably suffice. Like the Sekonic L-358

As for how I will use it: I specialize in portrait photography, I have a small in-home studio so i will use it to set my flashes there, I do also do a few weddings so it would be used in a variety of different settings measuring both flash and ambient light.... and/or a mixture of both