Sekonic with Hensel/Elinchrom

caled0n

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am fairly new to studio photography.
I am going to buy my first kit and I am of course unsure which one to choose.
My budget is about $3-4000.

One factor that is important is how to use my Sekonic L-358 with the monolights (Elinchrom BX/Ri 500/500 To Go / Hensel Integra Pro Plus) the easiest way.
Both of these kits come with their own transmitter, and the monolights have build-in slave recievers.
Can someone please take me through it, step by step?
What is the easiest way to do this?

Should I buy another Elinchrom/Hensel transmitter and trigger the lights with this transmitter's test button while taking a reading with the Sekonic?
Should there be a sync cable involved?
Should I buy a Pocket Wizard? The L-358 does not have a PW built in, but is compatible with it, isn't that right? What would this set-up look like?

I would really appreciate your tips and answers.

If you have other ideas on other kits you think I should spend my 3-4000 on, let me know.

Or of course the Sekonic connected to the camera with a sync cable...

If they are ready with their wireless circuitry I would just get the trigger designed for them. You can basically set up the lights and hold both the meter and the trigger in your hand and fire the strobes and let your meter take a reading. Someone mentioned a cord which is fine but for a little over a hundred bucks you can fire it wirelessly.
-
Elinchrom EL-Skyport Universal Radio Slave Transmitter EL 19351 if you are buying a kit believe this comes with it.
-
ilovephotography.com -- How to use the Sekonic L358 -- Step by step instruction manual
-
Shoot well, Joe

Well, both kits kome with a remote trigger system, with recievers built into the monolights.
(Elinchrom: Skyport. Hensel: Strobe Wizard)
The thing is: this would either way be connected to the hotshoe of the camera.