Selective Coloring

Nikon Fan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
This is my first attempt at selective coloring, so please critique as much as you can, let me know what adjustments would improve this. It's another untitled work in progress, so please feel free to toss out names as well. I think it may be oversharpened, but you tell me....

monkselectivecolor.jpg

It's a beautiful photo Amanda :)I can see some errors in yourselecting though. Around the neckline, andalong the lower leftof the clothing. There's also a ton of jpgcompression artifactsand/or sharpening artifacts, which make it hard totell about someother areas. I think you might have oversharpened it andsaved ita bit too lossy. How did you do the selective coloring? Ifyouhave photoshop, and you use a channel mixer adjustment layer toconvertto black and white, and then mask off the areas you want incolor, ifyou make a mistake, you can go back and fix it at any time.

-edit: Notice all the spaces it took out? :(

Matt, thanks for the reply. I found a basic tutorial on the internet and followed the steps for the process, however it seems like there are better ways to go about it. First I desaturated the photo, then clicked the history tool (and selected before the desaturation), and just went over the part I wanted in color, I tried to zoom in and get the parts around the neckline especially, but had difficulty as you can tell. I will start over with the original and give it another try...oh I also sharpened afterwards, which definitely didn't help it much. Thanks for the tips, I'll work on it and post another after I finish :)

Oh by the way I have noticed the spacing in your posts, but only yours...which is odd. Hopefully someone can figure out why it's doing that for you :) But still I appreciate the help coming from the master of PS even if the spacing isn't perfect ;)