Self taught or schooled

Dubie

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I was just wondering how many of you taught yourself photgraphy or were formally educated?

self taught, no courses. and opened a photography book yesterday for the first time ever (and was a bit disappointed)!

That is why most of my images are so poor and end up in the bloopers section ;)

Self taught but next year I am taking a class. A little bit for fun, a bit to see if I'll surprisingly learn anything(that'll probably come back to me and I'll learn a ton), and a bit to have an easy class I already should know well.

I took 4 years in highschool. Two were straight B&W photography, and two were with photoshop, scanning prints into the computer and doing stuff with them. Keep in mind that I graduated 6 years ago, the only digital cameras we had access too had a resolution of 640x480, the ones that took a floppy disk....

I also took a few classes in college. Nothing major.

I was formally educated at Defense Information School recieving college credits. Then from there I was taught by more expirenced photographers and I still consider myself still learning.

My dad was a photographer for some magazines and I learnt a lot off him. Then he stopped and I taught myself for a few years. Then at uni I picked up a few classes and learnt a fair bit.

I always try to learn things off other people at some stage - because they always know something you don't know. And if they don't teach you something completely knew - at least they'll show you a different way of thinking or doing things. hehehe or they'll prove that you were doing it right in the first place. :)

Self-taught, if you can call it that. Or "TPF-taught"?
I have never ever in all my life had even the remotest chance to go to a class or any kind of schooling on photography. I wish I could now! I'd love to.

Self-taught although I'll be taking a class next semester.