Senior Pictures

mrmacedonian

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey all!

A bit of background I'm relatively new to dSLR's and the finer points of their capabilities. I currently own and use a Canon Rebel XTi and a Tamron AF 18-270mm f/3.5-6.3. I've enjoyed reading the threads and all the information on this forum and so I thought I'd see if you had any tips for me.

My sister is a Senior in High School and she's going to be getting her Senior Pictures taken by a pro sometime in the next couple of months. My thoughts were that I would see what my camera and I could produce and learn a whole lot in the process. I've been reading literature from beginners to intermediate level and here's a few recommendations I've put together from those books and a few conversations with some local pro's...

- shoot outdoors (indirect natural light)
- use an F-stop of 11
- shoot between 85-100mm
- lowest ISO light will permit (preferably 100)
- utilize Av setting, allowing camera to select shutter speed
- good tripod set at ~ eye-level to subject (no higher)
- remote shutter release (planning on trying out this one per a thread I stumbled upon in this forum)

I've been looking into this for just a few days now and those are some tips I've seen suggested for my current goal, any additions or constructive objections to these guidelines would be wonderful and greatly appreciated!

I'm not under the impression I'll be matching or out-performing a studio professional, this is simply a type of growth and self-improvement exercise I would like to get the most out of :)