sharp subjects?

jemmy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi all.,...I am (in case you hadn't already guessed) a big lover of portraiture and am getting rather happy with my 'one subject' portraits.... after advice i tend to activate only one sensor, and use focus lock, to get a good sharp shot of the subject...... now, my dilemma is shooting portraits of 2 or more people... i should then activate all sensors to get everyone sharp???? Have been finding one person to be sharper than others which i am hating with a passion!!!!!!!....Should i be shooting on a particular mode or using specific settings to combat this problem??... i tend to swap around from Av to Program.... I would love to know what you professionals use any advice on getting all of my subjects SHARP is greatly appreciated! I understand that lighting plays a massive part but is there a general rule-of-thumb for shooting multiples??? xx Thanks in advance:D and sorry if this is a laughable question - I am so far self-taught only apart from a short course basically on 'getting to know my camera' but hoping to book into a course in the near future. thanks again xx

Here is an example...

jaychlo1.jpg

Here Chloe looks sharper than JAy??!!... I use a canon 350D with 18 - 55mm lens shot on aperture priority... If i used a 50mm 1.8lens, would this help to make it sharper too?? x

I am guessing what you need is to use a much smaller aperture, therefore increasing your DOF. It probably isn't as much a question of lenses as it is aperture. What was your aperture in this shot?

What you might want to also try is posing them on the same 'plane' (not certain which word is correct). Essentially so the distance between the two of them in comparison to the lens is very similar.