"Shoot" and "Shot" and "Shooting"

Patrice

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
I've been photographing people, scenes and objects for over 40 years and I've yet to "shoot" anything or anyone while using a camera. Call me old fashioned, anal retentive, grumpy, .... whatever you want, your choice, but I find the continuing use of "Shoot", "Shot" and "Shooting" amateurish.

Pat
(grumpy old git)

Last edited:
Good for you Pat. I'll be printing out a Grammar Police Award of Appreciation for you and sending it to you care of general delivery there in Campbellton. Knowing the speed of the Canadian postal system, I would expect that it should arrive soon after the Hades freeze-over, sometime in late 2013.

Knowing the speed of the Canadian postal system, I would expect that it should arrive soon after the Hades freeze-over, sometime in late 2013.

Don't use general delivery overland service, you'll have to use the 'special speedy service' (S.S.S.) of our postal service un-provider if you wish for it to get here that quickly.

I've ben photographing people, scenes and objects for over 40 years and I've yet to "shoot" anything or anyone while using a camera. Call me old fashioned, anal retentive, grumpy, .... whatever you want, your choice, but I find the continuing use of "Shoot", "Shot" and "Shooting" amateurish.

Pat
(grumpy old git)

I could not agree more.

Someone once told me that the term "Snapshot" was originally derived from Sharpshooters?